Lavender! What’s not to love! So delicate, so flavorful. Every morning, I walk past a bunch of lavender bushes on the sidewalk on my way to work. And they smell amazing!! Some times, I will pluck off a small flower and rub it on the inside of my wrist- instant perfume right there!

I always keep dried lavender buds in my pantry. They make everything smell great. A sachet of lavender in my clothes drawer makes me smelling like a lady all day long.  🙂 Did you know that in the summer months, if you tied some lavender branches in front of your fan- your entire room would be fragrant!

Lavender can have many uses- but it is wonderful to drink as a refreshing summer beverage. This recipe calls for making a simple syrup with lavender and then enjoying it over some seltzer water.

So, let’s get ready.

Combine the sugar, lavender and water and boil.

Once it comes to a boil and the sugar dissolves, let it cool.

After cooling, strain it into a bottle.

Voila!

This syrup can stay in the refrigerator and should keep for up to 2 months. This is a very versatile syrup- it can go with lemonade, teas, a great syrup to incorporate when baking cookies and cakes.

For this drink, I combined it with seltzer water, added ice and threw in some fresh mint leaves I had on hand.

This drink has the perfect delicateness of lavender and refreshment from the cold seltzer water. Homemade sodas are awesome- let’s make more!

Cheers!

Recipe (adapted from Chickpea Magazine)

Lavender Syrup:

1 cup water

1 cup raw cane sugar

1 tablespoon culinary lavender

Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan and let it come to a boil on medium heat. Once the sugar is dissolved, take it off the heat and let it cool. Strain it and refrigerate.

Lavender Drink

8 oz. seltzer water/ club soda

2 tablespoons lavender syrup

To make the drink, add the seltzer water and the lavender syrup in a glass. Serve it with lots of ice and fresh mint leaves.

Tastes great with some lemonade too!

