I am loving the weather. It’s so much fun waking up in the morning to a bright happy sun- makes me feel like the day has so much potential..there are so many possibilities..I can accomplish so much in that day, it’s amazing! Umm..just don’t ask me what happens to that resolve by the evening..mkay? Or we can’t be friends!

Summer also makes me want to eat light meals..salads filled with tomatoes and basil and avocados drizzled with balsamic vinegar..yummm…and the fruits! There are hoards of strawberries surrounding me these days and on days when they look really good, I buy them and store them in my freezer for future use.

This jam is not really jammed..I mean it is not canned and it took me about 30 minutes to make with no prep time, cos lets face it..no one wants to spend their summers in the kitchen!

So, let’s start. All this recipe needs is about a pound of strawberries (I also had some blueberries and I tossed those in and boy, did I like the color?). Some sugar and some lime/lemon juice. The tartness from the lime juice helps the sweetness from your berries. You can adjust this depending on the sweetness of the berries.

Start boiling on a medium high flame.

Now, watch them boil…ooh..look at those bubbles!

More bubbles…

In around 10-15 mins, the liquid will reduce to about half its original quantity and you will have a jellyish consistency that looks something like this

Bottle it up and refrigerate. Mine has been finding its way to everything I eat…but I would guess it won’t last longer than 10 days, since there are no preservatives added.

Look how beautiful that is. It was the perfect combination of sweet and tart without overpowering the taste of the fruit with the sugar. Other things that popped in my head later were… how beautiful would this be with a hint of lavender, mint or even fennel! Imagine…so much potential!

Recipe: Yields about 1-11/2 cups of jam

1-1 1/2 pound of strawberries

1 cup of blueberries

1/2 a cup of sugar

Juice of 1 lime (reduce if berries are tart already)

Combine all the ingredients in a heavy bottomed pan on medium heat. Let it cook for 10-15 mins. You will see the fruit breaking and the liquid boiling. Stop when the chunks of fruit are broken and the liquid has reduced to about 1/2 of its original quantity. This will be a spreadable and not too thick of a jam.

Enjoy on toast, muffins, pancakes or even with your granola. Weird? May be!

